Complete Guide to the Chakras in Yoga

Your body may appear solid to the touch, but you are nothing more than pure energy. You can think of chakras as the main energy centers in the body.

Boost your self-confidence, creativity, and overall happiness with with understanding of the chakras, your body`s energy centers.

Chakras need to stay open for a fully functioning body but sometimes due to ill practices chakras may get blocked which is not ideal.

Unblocking the chakras throughout your body can help you advance spiritually, break down mental boundaries, and expand your consciousness.

What is Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means "wheel" or "circle" in English, and it originates from the ancient Indian yoga system. Therefore chakras in yoga are the energy centres of our bodies.

Chakras are vital components of your spiritual journey, and understanding them can help you better connect your mind, body, and spirit.

How do chakras work?

Chakras are complex energy channels in our body where life force is believed to move. You can call it the body's spiritual nervous system. These spinning energy circle can influence our physical and emotional well being.

What are the 7 main chakras in the human body?

There are 7 main chakras in the human body. They run along our backbone starting from the base of the spine all the way to the crown of our head.

We must unblock our chakras in order to achieve perfect harmony between the physical body, mind, and spirit. People attempt to clear their chakras in order to live their best lives.

Let's further explore where the chakras are located and what they signify.

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

root chakra

Element: Earth

Color: Red

Mantra: Lam

It is present on the base of the spine. This chakra forms the foundation we need and gives us a strong base to have a stable body and mind.

When this chakra is opened, we feel confident in our day-to-day activities and have a strong self-esteem, great self-confidence to withstand challenges.

But when it is blocked, we feel threatened on a day-to-day basis and are usually insecure about our day-to-day activities.

It can control things that are directly related to having a strong self esteem and confidence like financial independence money and food.

Yoga poses to balance root chakra

  • Mountain Pose
  • Warrior Pose

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

sacral chakra

Element: Water

Color: Orange

Mantra: VAM

It is present in the lower abdomen about two inches below the naval.It influences our emotions with ourselves and emotions with other people, sexual energy and our sense of abundance.

People who have this chakra blocked are easily agitated and do not have control over their own emotions whether that is anger issues or emotional breakdowns.

It influences sense of satisfaction regards to pleasure, sexuality and overall emotional fulfillment.

Yoga poses to balance sacral chakra

  • Standing Wide Forward Bend
  • Bound Angle Pose

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

manipura chakra

Element: Fire

Color: Yellow

Mantra: RAM

Present in the upper abdomen in the stomach region. It largely controls our skill to handle life confidently and taking control of every situation. In simple terms, whenever we feel the butterflies in your stomach it is this chakra that is influencing this feeling.

In other words we feel excited, confident and in control of a particular situation. People who have this chakra blocked feel a lot of shame and self doubt more often than others and are not able to express themselves fully.

People who have this chakra opened are able to rejoice in life and feel very comfortable in their own skin.

Yoga poses to balance solar plexus chakra

  • Boat Pose
  • Spinal Twist Pose

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

heart chakra

Element: Air

Color: Green or pink

Mantra: YAM

This is present in the chest region just above the heart. It acts as a bridge between the lower chakras and upper chakras. In yoga the lower chakras are associated with material benefits and the upper chakras associated with spirituality. This chakra is very important as far as harmony is concerned.This chakra Influences our ability to perceive and to give love to others.

People who have this chakra blocked are not able to open up to their loved ones and acknowledge the deep sense of empathy from other human beings. In order to experience a sense of compassion and joy this chakra needs to be unblocked.

Yoga poses to balance heart chakra

  • Cobra Pose
  • Camel pose

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

vishuddha chakra

Element: Sound or Ether

Color: Blue

Mantra: HAM

It is located in the throat region. It influences our ability to communicate in an effective manner and to present ideas effectively. It is the epitome of self expression and truth because when it is opened it allows us to express ourselves fully and without any barriers.

People who have this chakra blocked find it difficult to come up with the right words at the right times to express their emotions; they fail to open up to their peers.

Yoga poses to balance throat chakra

  • Plow Pose
  • Fish Pose

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

ajna chakra

Element: Light

Color: Indigo

Mantra: AUM or OM

It is located in the forehead between the eyes and is also called the brow chakra. As discussed earlier the upper chakras relate to the spiritual aspect for existence so the higher up we move the closer we get to the interactions with divinity.

Think of it as the eye of the soul. It is connected with intuition and to decode information beyond the surface level. What people perceive as the sixth sense is the intuitive power of the third eye chakra.

People who have this open chakra may also experience intuitive visions. It forms the base of all imagination, wisdom and foresight.

Yoga poses to balance third-eye chakra

  • Seated Yoga Mudra
  • Meditation

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

sahasrara chakra

Element: Conscience

Color: Violet or White

Mantra: Silence

The Sahasrara, or crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra?something very few people ever do, you're able to access a higher consciousness.

Yoga poses to balance crown chakra

  • Savasana


The Chakra system can be used to describe the entire human body, including the physical, mental, and emotional bodies. Chakra yoga is a practical application of the chakra paradigm that aims to improve health, self-awareness, and spiritual wisdom.

In addition, Chakra yoga strengthens your body's connection to you, allowing you to recognise when you need more focus, grounding, or determination and customise your yoga practise to match those needs in order to attain balance and harmony in your life.